Please reload

REBNY honors Silverstein, Walentas, Weisbrod and more

The Real Estate Board of New York (REBNY) honored top industry leaders among its membership at its recent annual gala last week. The group spotlighted the achievements of Carl Weisbrod, Chairman of the New York City Planning Commission and Director of the New York City Department of City Planning, who recently announced his retirement.


“We established the John Zuccotti public service award in honor of our friend, a statesman in every sense of the word,” said Rob Speyer, REBNY Chairman. “In the spirit of John’s legacy, we recognize New York City Planning Chairman Carl Weisbrod for his outstanding career in public service. Carl’s contributions to our city span five mayors. He revitalized Times Square, founded the Downtown Alliance, helped us rebuild after 9/11, and most recently, announced the rezoning of Midtown East.”


The awards presented at this year’s banquet are among the top professional distinctions in the real estate industry.


Rob Speyer, Suzan Zuccotti, and Ric Clark of Brookfield Property Group and Brookfield Property Partners presented The John E. Zuccotti Public Service Award to Carl Weisbrod.


MaryAnne Gilmartin, President and Chief Executive Officer of Forest City Ratner Companies, the New York office of Forest City Realty Trust, Inc., was honored with The Bernard H. Mendik Lifetime Leadership in Real Estate Award for her exceptional accomplishments in the profession, leadership, and service to the real estate industry over the course of her distinguished career.


The Harry B. Helmsley Distinguished New Yorker Award was accepted by Marc Holliday, Chief Executive Officer of SL Green Realty Corp. This award acknowledges an industry member for their invaluable contributions to New York’s civic welfare and the real estate community.


Jed Walentas, Chief Executive Officer of Two Trees Management Co., received The Kenneth R. Gerrety Humanitarian Award, which recognizes a REBNY member’s meritorious service to the community.


Peter Riguardi, President of the New York Tri-State Region for Jones Lang LaSalle, was honored withThe Louis Smadbeck Broker Recognition Award. This award, presented by Bob Knakal and James Nelson of Cushman & Wakefield, celebrates a commercial broker with exceptional personal and professional integrity, leadership, prominence in the brokerage community, and service to REBNY’s committees.


Larry Silverstein presented Bill Dacunto, Executive Vice President of Operations for Silverstein Properties, Inc., with The George M. Brooker Management Executive of the Year Award, which recognizes individuals of superior accomplishment in property management based on outstanding professionalism, civic achievement, and contributions to the real estate industry.


Lindsay Ornstein, Partner at Transwestern, accepted The Young Real Estate Professional of the Year Award presented by Bill Montana of Savills Studley. This award is selected by the Young Men's/Women's Real Estate Association of New York and honors a member who exemplifies strong integrity, professionalism, and personal ethics.



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Institutional investors slash CRE capital budget by 19%: Report

Ashford REIT invests in 'purification' tech to create allergy-free guestrooms

REIT to build $110M facility to house immigrants rounded up by Trump

Working in style: The corporate campus designed by Frank Lloyd Wright

Hard Rock unveils plans to revamp Trump's failed Atlantic City casino

Food tenants increasingly crucial for shopping centers: Report

Retailer Finer Fields aims to merge bricks and clicks

The Gents Place 'lifestyle club' muscling into new markets

Please reload


  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
More from Squarefootprint
Further reading



  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon